An introduction of sorts.

I think it’s extremely valuable, when one is starting a new writing endeavor, to provide some context and background as to why said endeavor came about, and why it’s relevant enough for you to expect readers to care enough about it to dedicate any amount of their time to reading and thinking about what you’ve written. I’m not so vain as to believe that this site is going to have any significant influence on decisions that get made, but I do hope that it can serve as a valuable resource for those who share the same goals and passions as me.

I’d like to start off by answering 3 questions that I recently asked myself as a result of reading Carmine Gallo’s “Talk Like Ted“.

Question 1: What do you do?

I work at a non-profit organization in Ontario that promotes cycling.

Question 2: What are you passionate about?

I’m passionate about making cycling more accessible and safer to more residents of Ontario and Canada.

Question 3: What is it about what you do that makes your heart sing?

Ignoring the cheesiness in how the question is phrased (I bristle when someone uses a term like “what makes your heart sing?” or “what makes your spirit soar?”, especially in a business or professional context), I still had to think a lot harder about this question than I did the second.  And I arrived at one very simple conclusion.

What inspires me about what I do is that I have seen the results that arise from communities that make walking and cycling a priority. I see neighbours that know one another, I see local shops thriving, supported by people that know the shopkeeper by name. I see kids getting to school actively and safely, the way I did as a child, and I see healthier, happier and more prosperous people. A community where walking and cycling are prioritized is one where the streets are alive, and where people look out for one another because they know their neighbour’s faces and their stories, not just their vehicle make and model. It’s this vision, the vision of a connected community that makes my heart sing, and it really is my raison d’être.

So now that you know that about me, I’m excited to put the rest of this site together. My goal is to keep this updated with opinions, articles, links and other updates that relate to cycling in North America with a particular focus on things going on in Ontario. I hope that you find this site interesting, informative, thought provoking and occasionally humorous (I make no promises on that, though. I have an odd sense of humour), and that I can provide you with at least some reason to spend your valuable time pondering thoughts I post on my little corner of the interweb.  I hope to post once a week, sometimes more and hopefully seldom less. But we’ll see how things go!

Enjoy the ride!

One thought on “An introduction of sorts.

Leave a Reply

